Sinless Saturday

 Day 6…

I’m pleasantly surprised about how today went. I thought it would be verrrry difficult, but not so!

Last night I bought a spiralizer (because it sounds like the way to go for those doing Whole 30). So today on my errand run (wedding invitations are mailed, thanks for asking!) I stopped by the grocery store and bought some zucchini.  I’m really looking forward to trying zoodles. They seem to be highly liked…

I also made my own breakfast sausage today! Just cooked up some ground pork with a bunch of seasonings, and it pretty much tasted like the real thing. Tomorrow I’ll make some sort of breakfast scramble to really try it out.  Until then…

Breakfast= Walnuts 

Ok, yes I know breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but I just was not hungry.  I got out of bed, got dressed, and went out. When I got home I had a handful of walnuts while making the sausage. I may also have taken a taste of the sausage to make sure it was seasoned well…

Lunch= Grilled Chicken, Spinach Strawberry Salad, and Sweet Potato Chips

I tried out my spiralizer on a sweet potato and made thin chips. I sprinkled half with salt and pepper, and half with cinnamon. I think I could improve the baking process, as some of them were burned and others not quite crispy enough, but it was a good first start.

Dinner= Deconstructed Burger and Carrot Sticks

Jonathan and I tried out a new restaurant that opened in the neighborhood. I ordered a deconstructed hamburger, which is basically a burger patty on a plate with a piece of lettuce, tomato slices, pickles, and red onion.

I wish I would have taken a picture, but alas, I’d been waiting for that burger all week and was eager to try it! It was quite tasty!

Remarks…

I’ll admit that tonight I wished I weren’t on this diet. The restaurant had several menu items I would have liked to try. Pizza, corn fritters (looked like delicious hush puppie!), pretzels, lots of beer… It scares me a little that I’m feeling temptation so early in the program. I still have 24 days!!

But then I looked at the people eating those things and thought, when I have their physique, I can eat those things again. That may be the wrong way to look at it, but in a way, it’s helping me to envision the long-term reward over the short-term satisfaction. It I think that’s what will help me through this!

 

Leave a Reply

