Ups and Downs

Days 17 & 18…

Guys, sometimes I love this diet, and other times I really, really hate it.  Yesterday, I really really hated it.  Like, I wanted to come on here and type in all caps about how mad and miserable this diet was making me.  The issue, again, being that it’s nearly impossible to find a quick meal out that’s compliant with the program.  And yesterday I had to eat out.  Quickly.  It was hard.  I was mad at the world and cursed the inventor of the processed food.  I hated the guy who decided to put soy in everything.  I hated the cheeseheads in Wisconsin (no just kidding guys, but seriously, why does everything have cheese in it?!)  I cursed the French for teaching us that everything tastes better with butter, even when you wouldn’t think butter belonged.  And I really, really, really hated Chick-fil-A, when my plan to get their grilled nuggets was foiled when I discovered there was sugar in the seasonings.  UGH!

After throwing my phone at that last discovery clear across my car, I decided I didn’t care if something had a trace of dairy or sugar.  Ignorance is bliss, so as long as I didn’t look it up, I would assume that I was off the hook.  Of course, I realize the chemistry in my body knows better, but between a trace of butter and a Big Mac (with the bun), I thought my way was the better way.


 

Day 17…

Breakfast= Omelet and Bacon

Ugh. I’m so sick of eggs.  It’s times like these that I really envy the people who are perfectly content eating the same thing over and over and over.  A co-worker at my previous job literally ate the same homemade lunch every single day and loved it.  I can barely eat the same thing leftover if I’ve had it the night before.

So yes, eggs are getting old.  I did try a new form of egg in an omelet with tomatoes and peppers.  So that’s something…

Lunch= Fuji Apple Chicken Salad

I had a really long, crazy day at the office, and before I knew it, it was 2:30, and I hadn’t eaten lunch.  I left the office and headed to Starbucks, as is my usual Wednesday ritual, but since I’d missed lunch, I needed something to eat.  My first idea was Chick-fil-A, since I knew they had grilled chicken nuggets.  But a quick look at the ingredients led me to realize that the nuggets were not, in fact, compliant.  So I went to Panera, found a salad that looked decent, and ordered it without cheese and dressing.  The fuji apple salad contains greens, tomatoes, onion, pecans, chicken, and apple chips.  100% compliant? I have no idea.  At this time, I didn’t care.  But hopefully it was a thumbs up…

IMG_2375

Dinner= Grilled Chicken and Larabar

Unfortunately I was still out by dinner time and no clue what to eat.  This was the part where I was hating the world.  I finally ran out of time trying to figure it out, and ended up at Boston Market.  I got 1/4 roasted chicken and squash casserole, which I guess I should have known would contain squash and something else that was not compliant.  So I just ate the chicken.  And a key lime Larabar.


Day 18…

Breakfast= Scrambled Eggs and Sausage

Ughhhhhhhhh.

Lunch= Baked Chicken, Carrots, and Zucchini

Have you ever had a food that you wished you liked more?  Like, you really really really want to like it, but no matter how hard you try, you just really don’t like it.  That’s me and zucchini.  I try… I really try… to like zucchini.  But after a few bites, I’m just done with it.  The zoodles last week were good but it’s because they were drowned in tomato sauce.  But just sauteed? Doesn’t work that well.  The roasted carrots from the cafeteria today were stellar!  Next time I’ll just get two servings.  Amazing, and without butter or honey glaze.

IMG_2377

Dinner= Chicken, mashed sweet potatoes, broccoli

Every now and then I’m inspired to make something new.  In the fridge I had a pound of chicken breast that I’d intended on baking with lemon.  Lemon chicken.  Boring. old. lemon. chicken.  I couldn’t do it.  So I improvised.  I did some research (Google and Pinterest) and found a few recipes: one for paleo pesto and one for paleo bacon wrapped chicken.  So I improvised and made tomato and pesto stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon.  I also whipped some sweet potatoes in some coconut milk and steamed some broccoli.

The chicken?  Oh my gosh. We both loved it.  The pesto came out delicious and with the stuffing and the wrapping, the chicken was so flavorful and moist.  Yummmmm…

IMG_2379

The mashed potatoes were also good.  But the broccoli?  I steamed it too long.  It basically disintegrated upon contact.  I really need to learn how to steam veggies better…

Remarks…

As always, mixed feelings.  It’s amazing how much of a hassle this is sometimes, and other times, when I actually have time to plan, it’s a piece of cake.  Yesterday and today were night and day.  Yesterday I was at the mercy of eating out, and today I had my own food. Tomorrow is Friday, which means it will also be a challenge.  But I’ll get through.  12 days and counting…

Leave a Reply

