The Penultimate

Day 29…

The end is near… And yet so is the beginning.  I was thinking tonight while out walking and jogging (yes, jogging!), that the true test may very well start Wednesday. Self control once the self control is over. The true moment of truth: will my 30 days of whole eating have done the trick?

Yes, the cravings have gone away. No, I don’t miss sweets. I don’t really miss bread either. But I do miss cheese. And rice. And peanut butter. And Chinese food. But I’ve done ok without them, and I’m hoping that means I’ll eat them less frequently going forward.

Breakfast: Frittata and Larabar

I started this morning with the frittata I made yesterday. Delicious! I also had some crappy break room black coffee. Then I had a coconut Larabar about an hour later.

Lunch: Leftover Beef Stew

Yum. Yum. Yum. This stew was a winner. But I can’t wait until I can use corn starch or flour again because coconut flour totally messed up our stomachs. Apparently very high in fiber… At least it tasted good!

Dinner: Zoodles and Squoodles with Turkey Meatballs

I tried out the old spiralizer tonight with zucchini and squash. Zoodles and Squoodles!!! And this time instead of boiling it, I pan sautéed it with a little olive oil. Much better. Less soggy. More substance. In fact, Jonathan said he’d be fine if we never ate pasta spaghetti again. Major score!

To go with it, I made the most tasty, tender meatballs with ground turkey, which I rarely use. I mixed a pound of ground turkey with an egg, garlic salt, black and red pepper, oregano, parsley, tomato paste, and coconut flour, and then pan fried them in a tbsp of olive oil.  Once browned, I simmered them in Newman’s Own spaghetti sauce. Yum!!! It was one of the best things I’ve made this month. It wasn’t the most photogenic, but here are my Zoodles and Squoodles…

image

Remarks…

Here goes the last day. It’s coming up. I’m ready to embrace it.  Until then…

Leave a Reply

