Post-Mortem

So I know I said I’d post on Day 31. And I’m sorry I didn’t deliver on that promise. The truth is, I didn’t have time to take the measurements that I wanted to.  All I can say is that in about 30 days, I lost about 12 pounds. Since January, I lost 16 pounds!

image.jpegThings fit so much better, and they look so much better on! My complexion is clearer, and I have more energy.

In the days immediately following Day 30, I was a bit lost. I know the Whole 30 plan has a re-introduction plan, but for me, it wasn’t feasible.  I’d specifically planned Whole 30 around some major events, and waiting another 2 weeks before introducing bread back in would be difficult. Or so that was my excuse.

Still, when you’ve spent 30 days avoiding certain foods because they’re perceivably “unhealthy,” then eating them again is a bit like being dragged into the wilderness blindfolded, and then taking the blindfold off and having to find your way around.

Ok maybe that’s a bit dramatic. But I did start slowly and small. I ate breakfast and lunch as if I were still on the diet. And then I had dinner at Panera. I had my totally paleo Fuji Apple salad sans cheese and dressing, but I also had a cup of broccoli cheddar soup and half a baguette (well, half the little piece of baguette they give you).

The next day, again, I was good for breakfast and lunch, and then for dinner I got a chick-fil-a grilled chicken Cobb salad. So, not too bad except for a little cheese on the salad and the little bit of sugar I knew was in the grilled chicken seasoning.

But Friday, Good Friday, Fasting Meatless Friday, my good eating habits kinda went out the window. I was good on breakfast. But then I had a fish sandwich for lunch and quesadilla for dinner. Terrrrrrrrribbbbleeeee. But past the 30 days, so I let myself have it.

This weekend wasn’t the best either. But a few things that have changed for the better:

1.I always stuck with a Whole30 compliant breakfast. It’s easy, and at this point I prefer the egg, meat, and fruit breakfast. So I know at least I’m good there.

2. I don’t need, nor do I really want, anything in my coffee anymore. I kind of prefer it black. I never thought I would! But it’s kind of refreshing! And it doesn’t add sugar and milk that kind of wears me down.

3. This weekend I ordered an unsweet tea from a  drive-in, and either the signal was bad or they goofed, but either way I ended up with a sweet tea. I could only get through a few sips! I prefer my tea unsweet now.

My plan on Friday after my terrible dinner of carbs, sugar, and dairy, was to go for a run. Did I mention we’re trying to train up for a 5K? I know that’s a walk in the park for many, but not me. Anyway, literally 5 minutes into the run (of which half was warm up), I pulled a muscle in my hip mid-run, and had to limp back home. Bummer. Tonight I’m feeling only a little sore still, so hopefully I’ll be back in it soon, but I was pretty disappointed to have to put off the exercise for a few days.

But regardless of my triumphs and downfalls, I’m still scared. I’m scared that I’m going to get carried away and gain it all back. And I can’t let that happen. I’m not done yet. I can’t be done yet because I haven’t accomplished what I said I would: to get as healthy as I can be. I can’t stop at 16 pounds. Talk to me again when that number is 66.

I’m going to take the next day or two to come up with a plan that works for me. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

