Prepping for a Lifestyle Change

Here we are again, at the embarking of a new life journey.  These actually come into fruition about half the time, but this time make no doubt about it– I will be committing.  I have you guys behind me.

I’ve found there are a few absolute necessities when it comes to eating right.  They include things like “don’t go to the grocery store hungry,” and “you need a great support system.” Yes.  Both key.  And I’ll get to those.  But for me, the #1 key success factor is preparation.

Preparation.
Preparation.
Preparation.

Ever since the start of my Whole 30 diet, I’ve kept a weekly dinner menu.  It’s helped me to think ahead, buy only what I need, and make healthy choices.  I attribute my greatest triumphs to those times when I’ve spent ample time planning ahead.

I need to get much better at preparation, though.  Dinner is only one meal.  What about breakfast and lunch?   Sometimes I get in the mindset of thinking I’m making dinner for two, when in reality, I should be thinking about it in number of meals.  Tonight’s dinner is for two, but it needs to make at least 4 meals– that is, leftovers for lunch the next day for both me and my husband.

So… today I prep.  I’m taking into consideration what I need to do this week in order to make a great first start.  My menu is planned, and I’ve already made my breakfast for this week.

I’ve also made dinner, and it will serve as lunch for probably a few days this week.  I’ll save that recipe for tomorrow, but first, I need to remind myself to brag on my husband in a big way tomorrow.  It’ll make more sense then, but I swear, if I don’t remind myself here, I will never do it justice!

Anyway, for now, here’s breakfast for the next few days!

Turkey Sausage and Egg Casserole IMG_2915

Servings: 4
WW Points: 8

Ingredients:
3/4 lb ground turkey sausage
6 eggs
1/4 cup cheese (I used cheedar and peperjack)
1/4 onion, diced
1/4 tomato, diced
salt and pepper

Directions:
In a large skillet, fry turkey sausage.  When almost browned, add tomato and onion, and cook until browned.

Break eggs into a bowl and whisk until thick and foamy.  Add salt and pepper.

Spray a 9′ pie plate with non-stick spray.  Lay sausage in a single row.  Pour eggs over the sausage, and then top with cheese.  Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, until eggs are set.  Then uncover and bake an additional 5 minutes.

Cool completely.  Then cut into quarters.  Serve or store for 4-5 days.

 

Look at that bubbly- eggy goodness.  Oh, this one is a keeper!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

