A Grain of Salt

Mr. Scale said I was two pounds lighter this morning than I was a week ago.  Speaking as someone whose weight fluctuates several pounds throughout the day, I’ll take this win with a grain of salt. (Ha! If this blog had an official name it would totally be ‘A Grain of Salt.’ I’ll look into that…) Next week I should have some better evidence as to whether the diet is working, but at the end of the day, a minus on the scale is always better than a plus!

I ended up taking the leftover chicken alfredo for lunch today and when I went to track it was pleased to learn that it was only 10 points. Not nearly as bad as I thought!

Dinner tonight, though, was pretty awesome! I made bruschetta chicken. Back when I did Whole 30, I made it without the cheese, but one slice of mozzarella is only 2 points, so I added it.  Try this! You’ll love it! It’s so simple and yet so amazing! It made a gravy to die for. I literally wanted to lick the pan!

Bruschetta Chicken  IMG_2939

Servings: 6
WW Points: 7

Ingredients

6 split chicken breasts
1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp reserved
Cajun seasoning
Salt
Italian seasoning
Pepper
4-6 Slices Mozzarella
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
1 handful of basil, chopped

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper, Cajun seasoning, and Italian seasoning.  Heat olive oil (minus one tsp) in a large skillet over medium high heat, and when hot, cook chicken 2-3 minutes per side, until golden brown.  Flip chicken and cook for another 2 minutes.  Transfer to a 9×13 inch baking pan, sprayed with non-stick spray.

Bake chicken for 10 minutes, until juices run clear.  Then top with cheese (you may have to split the slices among the chicken) and set oven to broil.  Broil for 5 minutes, until cheese in bubbly and beginning to brown.

While chicken is baking, combine tomatoes, basil, salt, pepper, and 1 tsp olive oil.  After broiling, top chicken with tomato mix and serve.

Bon appetit!

 

Leave a Reply

