To Join or Not to Join…

At work today, I got a notification that our Benefits department is offering discounted membership at LA Fitness.  This comes one day after I thought to myself, “Maybe I should go back to the gym again.”

Unfortunately, I’ve had LA Fitness membership before.  In fact, I had it an entire year at one point and didn’t use it once.  They don’t let you cancel online… you either have to go in person or send in a letter, which reminded me a lot of a certain Friends episode:  “I want to quit the gym!” Finally I did send in that “Dear John” letter, after about $360 of unspent gym fees.

The truth is, at the end of the day, whether it’s 5 or 6 p.m., I am ready to go home.  Not pass go and collect $200.  Not go to the gym and spend 1/2 hour on a treadmill or elliptical.

On the other hand, i’m about to move out into the suburbs and modify my work schedule to where I should be getting off quite a bit earlier.  And there’s a gym one exit north of ours.  So… we’ll see.  Jury is still out, but I have all week to think about it.

In other news, today was another good diet day.  I brought some of the yummy chicken bruschetta for lunch today and had it with a side of roasted carrots.  OMG roasted carrots are like candy.  I cannot get enough!

Dinner tonight was also awesome… in a way.  I made beef and broccoli, which I’ve actually never made before but always wanted to.  I used a Pinterest recipe, but there were a few things I wish I had done differently.  For one thing, the recipe seemed to suggest that you could marinate the beef in a mixture of soy sauce, sugar, baking soda, and corn starch for an hour and you’d magically have very tender meat.  Either I did it wrong (doubtful) or bought a very tough cut of meat (more probable), but either way it was way chewy.  The sauce, though.  OMG. I must admit I licked the bowl.  Amazing.  Next time, I’ll make it in a crock pot or let the meat tenderize a lot longer.

Anyway, here’s the recipe, modified a-la Jen:

Beef and Broccoli

Servings: 4
WW Points: 6

Ingredients

1 lb beef (I used chuck steak, but you could also use flank steak, sirloin, etc.)
1/2 tsp baking sodaIMG_2943
1 tsp sugar
1 tbsp corn starch
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 cup + 1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp water
2 tbsp brown sugar
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp flour
2 bags frozen broccoli (in the steamer bag)– approx 4 cups
oil
Cooked white rice

Directions

Cut beef in thin slices, against the grain.  Place in medium bowl.  Whisk together the next 4 ingredients, plus the 1 tbsp soy sauce, and pour over beef to coat.

Refrigerate for at least an hour (although I recommend more than 1 hour!).

Once ready to cook, mix together soy sauce, water, brown sugar, garlic and flour.  Heat oil over medium-high heat and stir-fry beef with 1/2 the sauce in a wok or skillet, until no longer pink.

Meanwhile, steam broccoli in the microwave, according to the bag’s instructions.

Add broccoli and the rest of the sauce to the skillet and cook for 1 minute, stirring to prevent burning.

Serve over rice!

Leave a Reply

