3 More Bite the Dust

This is a long one, because it’s been a while.  You don’t have to read it.  I’ve come to realize that these are mostly just for me… but if you do want to read, I hope you enjoy.


Today, according to the scale, I said, “Bye Felicia,” to 3 more pounds.  Hooray!  So I guess there’s some merit to the readings, but I’m still skeptical.  Here’s why…

Aside from the readings on the scale, I feel like I’m really, really sucking at this diet. Numbers don’t lie, so maybe I’m being a bit hard on myself, but I KNOW I can do better. The thing is that I’m in a bit of a bad place now, because it’s been two weeks of mediocre dieting, and right now there are results.  So, while my shoulder angel is warning me that if I continue to be so liberal in my dieting, I’m going to plateau and maybe even gain some back, my shoulder devil is saying, “Don’t worry!  Last week  you had a whole bottle of wine and a few slices of cake, and you still lost three pounds!” And I’m likely to want to believe her.  After all, she’s significantly thinner than I am and is sporting this cute little bob that I’ve always wanted but never had the guts to get.  Meanwhile, my shoulder angel is plump like me, with “mom hair”, and I kinda want to tell her, “Shut up, bitch” sometimes.

She means well though.  I should listen to her more often.  She’s the better friend.

Anyway, enough of my delusions.  Here’s a recollection of the things that have been through my system since the last time I posted..

Thursday, I worked late.  I texted my husband to say I would be home late, and I really didn’t feel like cooking the chicken-stuffed peppers on the menu for this week.  He said that was fine, and that what he really wanted was a pizza.  Was I ok with that?

Pizza… it’s my weakness.  The perfect invention of bread, tomato, and cheese… plus, yummy veggies and meats to make it even better.  I started to say no, I’d rather not, but then I reminded myself that this “diet” is all about sustainability.  And if I had to live for a sustainable period of time without so much as a slice of pizza, I would surely not make it.  I would just have to learn to control myself and limit my slices.

I got home and made a salad for when the pizza man arrived, and then we waited, and waited, and waited.  When our pizza guy finally buzzed our gate, I took my salad out of the fridge, and then we proceeded to wait another 10 minutes while he got lost in our apartment complex.  By this time it was almost 9 p.m., and, being the good girl I was that day, I hadn’t eaten much.  I was soo hungry!

I served myself a slice and sat down with my salad.  This was a record.  I’d never just eaten one slice during pizza delivery night!  I took this picture…

IMG_2945

(Side note:  Jonathan and I are packing, and we came across a bottle of sparkly pink wine that I was just positive had gone flat. Of course, it hadn’t, so since I opened it, I decided to have a glass with dinner.  Again, all about sustainability.  I’ve since drunk the whole bottle.)

I was so proud at the end of dinner and went to make a congratulatory post to myself… and then I realized I was still hungry.  And the pizza box was still open.

So I learned something about myself: I have no willpower when it comes to pizza.  I split a slice in half, and after devouring it, I ate the other half.  And then I ate an orange.  Needless to say, I didn’t post that post.

Friday, I had a lunch date with a friend.  We went to Tropical Smoothie Cafe, where I got a Thai salad and the least-caloric smoothie with Splenda.  The smoothie was about 400 calories and the salad under 350.  And then for dinner I had 1/3 can of red beans and rice.  Nothing to brag about, but I also didn’t do that bad… yet.

Friday night I also baked an angel food cake.  This is the part of me that has absolutely no discretion for what I should and should not do.  I wanted something sweet, and angel food cake was the least “sinful” of the options in my kitchen. Actually, that wasn’t even true.  I had a full drawer full of apples and oranges in my refrigerator.  These are just the things I tell myself sometimes to make it seem better.  Looking back, I realize how much I actually lie to myself.  It’s about as unhealthy as my eating habits sometimes.

Anyway, once the cake was done, I did at least practice some self-restraint by only eating a small slice.  And some strawberries.

Saturday,  I tried to get back on track.  For dinner, I made my chicken burrito-stuffed peppers.  I forgot to take a picture, but imagine a chicken burrito, but stuffed in a green bell pepper instead of a tortilla. I’ll definitely be making it again, so stay tuned… unless you’re dying to know, and then let me know in the comments section.

Then more cake, strawberries, and bubbly pink wine.

Sunday, I grilled hamburgers.  We’re trying to clean out the freezer and had a few burgers we wanted to finish up.  I’ve eaten worse…

Then again, more cake and bubbly wine.  There may have been strawberries.

Monday, I realized that enough was enough, and that I needed to start focusing on the diet again.  For dinner, I made angel hair pasta with an onion pepper tomato sauce.  It’s one of Jonathan’s favorite meals from his childhood, and I find it amazing as well… so much flavor in each bite! I’ve posted a picture before, with zoodles instead of angel hair, which would be great if you were doing paleo.

Here’s the recipe for the sauce:

Onion Pepper Tomato Sauce

Servings: 3
WW Points: 6

Ingredients:

1 onion, thinly slicedIMG_2953
1 1/2 cup red, yellow, orange, or green sweet peppers, thinly sliced
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp oil (I use olive oil)
1 can diced tomatoes (although if you used 2, you could probably get about 2-3 more servings out of this recipe)
1 bunch of basil (coarsely chopped)

Directions:

Heat butter and oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet.  When melted, add onions and peppers, and cook until peppers are tender.  Add tomatoes and basil. Stir, reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serve over angel hair pasta (+5 points per cup) or vegetable noodles (+0 points).

11 points for this dinner.  Plus some more, because let’s face it, that’s probably more than 1 cup of angel hair.  Going forward, I’m going to use just one tbsp of butter, because when you use a non-stick pan, you really don’t need that much.

Before I go, I have a treat for you!  Another recipe from tonight’s dinner!  Because tomorrow I have a work dinner, and because I’m already a day behind on recipes, here‘s what we had tonight.  OMG.  It was amazing…

IMG_2955

I followed this recipe precisely… well, kinda.  I used all the same ingredients.  But I only used 2/3 of the amount of onion, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, milk, bread crumbs, ketchup, mustard, and brown sugar.  I thought I only had 1 lb of beef, instead of the 1 1/2 lb of beef the recipe prescribed.  After forming the meatloaves into 6 generous servings, I looked again and noticed it was, in fact, 1.47 lbs of beef.  Oops.

Nevertheless, this still came out delicious!  So, I cut out some calories in the process.  I recommend a little salt and pepper sprinkled on right before cooking, and they only needed 1 hour in the oven for me.  Other than that,  truly scrumptious!  9 WW points.

So that’s all for now.  I’m going to do better, but for now I’m going to revel in the fact that I’m almost back down to where I was when I left off a few months ago.  And that, truly, is a victory.

Leave a Reply

