Restraint

I know I’m on the right track when I can withstand three temptations all in one day.

Today was the first day back at work after the holiday.  I got to work with my sweet little lunch box I just got for Christmas, filled with leftover soup, fruit salad, egg frittata muffins, and a cutie.  I popped three muffins in the microwave, peeled my cutie, and filled myself a very large cup of water (50-ish oz?).  When the timer went off on the microwave, I walked back to the kitchen area and was greeted with a full spread of baklava.  !!!  No clue how they magically appeared in the minute since I’d left the kitchen, but lo and behold, there were those crispy, flaky, buttery little pieces of heaven, staring out at me.  I gave them the metaphorical middle finger and walked back to my desk with my healthy breakfast.  Challenge 1 passed, and it wasn’t even 8 a.m.!

I booted up my computer during breakfast, and Outlook reminded me that we had a planned team lunch today.  Oh.  I guess the soup will wait for tomorrow!  During my last Whole 30, the one time I slipped was while out at a restaurant.  It was only Day 2, so I couldn’t let this lunch take me out!  Thankfully, I got to pick the restaurant, and I did a quick Google search to see what the blogosphere suggested for Whole 30 success.  It looked like my best choice was Mexican, so to Mexican we went!

Once we got to lunch, I was suddenly reminded that Tex-Mex restaurants have one annoying thing in common… something that could take me down with very little temptation.  The chips.  I LOVE tortilla chips!  I’ve been known to go to a Mexican restaurant, order a bunch of drinks, and eat chips and salsa till I’ve had my fill.  And don’t get me started on queso!

But I sat at that table as my team ate chips, salsa, queso, and guac, and I didn’t cave!  My stomach grumbled, and I still managed to restrain myself.  Challenge 2 passed!

By the way… this was the salad I got.  I am pretty sure I could eat this salad every single day.  OMG!!!  I had to make some adjustments (nix beans, cheese, corn, and tortilla strips), but still… Grilled chicken, bacon, tomatoes, avocado, and topped with a little salsa… I ate the WHOLE THING!

fajita-salad

That salad kept me full for the rest of the workday. When I got home, I just had a cup of fruit salad and was good until dinner.

Can I take a moment to love on my fruit salad?  Why don’t I make this more often?  It is well worth the work slicing and cutting fruit!  And maybe it’s because it’s been almost 2 full days since I’ve had refined sugar, but it tastes like candy!  Hubs loves it, too! I’m pretty sure it won’t last the rest of the week!  Yummmmm…

fruit-salad

Final temptation came at dinner.  I made an easy dinner- stir-fried beef and veggies.  Usually when I make this, I drench it in soy sauce and serve it over rice, but those are both prohibited, so instead, I made the rice for Jonathan and I just ate mine with salt and pepper.

stir-fry-beef

So as much as I love tortilla chips, multiply that by 10, and that’s how much I LOVE rice.  I think it has something to do with growing up in South Louisiana; all those good Cajun and Creole dishes are served with rice.  Think about it!  Only, I really shouldn’t think about it, because I LOVE rice, but rice doesn’t love any body.

If you use parboiled rice and make it in a rice cooker like I do, often times, once it’s done, there will be a little brown crust at the bottom of the pot.  And that, my friends, is gold.  And it happened tonight, and I had to leave the kitchen for a minute.  But when dinner came ’round, I ate just as I’d planned.  I made it the entire meal without rice.  Challenge 3 passed!

Ok, so maybe I’m being a bit melodramatic, but I feel it’s important to think about strengths during this journey.  Every good choice I make is a small victory that keeps me going.  Tomorrow there will be more challenges, and I’ll fight through them as well.  Next week will be worse.  But I’ve got this.

I’ve got this.

Leave a Reply

