Another Day Down!

Y’all, can I brag for just a minute about the hash I just made?

This morning I was planning my week and groaning at the fact that I probably needed to prep my breakfasts for the week again.  Last week, with the Monday holiday and my work-from-home Fridays, I did not prep anything and just went to the cafeteria.  But I get kind of bored of the cafeteria, and besides the eggs, I can’t really tell if my breakfast is 100% compliant.  Anyway, the major reason for my groaning was that it’s very hard to get excited for reheated egg frittata.  And that’s pretty much what I’ve been prepping because it’s easy and portable.

This week I decided to make eggs in a basket, using ham to line muffin tins and eggs in the middle.  I went to find a recipe on Pinterest (so, I’m pretty sure I know how to make it, but sometimes I like to read the recipes so I can get tips on how to make sure it’s not a major flop), and instead I found this recipe for a sweet potato and apple hash with ham and eggs.  And I was sold!

scramble-hash

I made the mistake of only taking a picture on Instagram stories, so it’s not the best picture.  But OMG the complexity of flavor was unbelievable!  I doubled the recipe, and it made 4 servings, plus 1/2 serving, which I had for lunch.  The next time I make this (because there will be a next time), I will cut the potatoes up a bit smaller and wait a little longer before adding the apples.  The sweet potatoes took a good bit longer than expected to soften, and the apples consequently turned mushy before the dish was done.  It doesn’t made the dish any less delicious, but I think I’d like to see and taste some more prominent apple next time.

Two small complaints about this recipe, in case any of you want to make this: 1.  It takes a solid hour to make, starting from the time you start peeling the sweet potatoes to the time it’s all done.  It doesn’t seem like it would take this long, but it does.

And 2. It takes a lot of dishes.  In prepping, once I chopped the potatoes, ham, onion, and apples, I put them each in a separate bowl so I had room on my cutting board.  Then there’s another small bowl to mix the seasonings, and another one to scramble the eggs.  Then before cooking the eggs, the recipe says to remove the hash, scramble the eggs in the skillet, and then put everything back in.  So that’s another large bowl.

But the time and dishes were totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

