On Health and Fitness

I know I usually post about food, but today I’m going to post about health and fitness and the like.

Don’t worry, I’m still killing it on the food front (see my Insta feed), but I haven’t given much dedication on this page to all the non-food aspects of this journey to better health.

I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday with a new doctor (I’ll admit I haven’t had a primary doctor since I moved to Atlanta… er… since my pediatrician.. ok that makes it seem so much worse), and I was chatting to her about this and that. 

It’s probably a surprise to nobody who knows me that I’m not perfect, and my vitals are no exception. This is partially genetic, but much moreso fixable by making better choices. I told my doctor I was doing Whole 30, and she said, “Keep it up!”

And that was a whole different motivator… doctor’s orders!

So today I went to the gym. I’m pretty sure I’ve never gone to the gym on a Saturday. But hubs was doing yard work, and a Zumba class started at noon, so I headed on over.

Oh. My. God. So, it wasn’t my first Zumba class. But it was my hardest. I’ve been to classes where Zumba instructors alternated fast and slow songs. This was not that type of instructor! It was one full hour of high-intensity arm-flapping, booty-shaking cardio. 

After 15 minutes, I thought to myself, “I don’t want to do this.” I looked around the room and all the tiny fit women who were probably never half the size I am, and I hated it. I hated being the largest person in the room, and I’m not quite in top-shape. I was already the color of a strawberry, and half my water was gone. 

So there were plenty of things inticing me to leave.

I don’t know if anyone else has this issue, but my shoulder angels bicker like nobody’s business! My shoulder devil had been telling me all these things, but my shoulder angel was telling her to shove it, and to at least hold it out for 30 minutes.

So I kept going. And when 12:30 came around, I planned how I’d make a stealthy exit, but my angel told me I’d made it this far… why not wait another 15 minutes? And then another 15 minutes.

Needless to say, I survived the whole Zumba class, and I stuck it out till the very end. Was it perfect? Nope. Was I graceful? Heck no! Was I at least coordinated with the rest of the class? Hahahahaha…!

But I left the gym today confident that things will only get better. And hopefully easier. And that’s a great feeling.

(Since I need a picture, how about this one of my cat on the banister?)

Leave a Reply

