Zooooooodles

Day 9…

 Happy March, y’all!  The months are flying by!  Wasn’t it just Christmas?

My Whole 30 experience is also flying by (wasn’t it just yesterday that I burned the green beans?  Oh wait, that was Day 1?).  Things are still going great.  Apparently between tomorrow and Thursday is the time when most people fall off the wagon.  I don’t see that happening, because I’m not having a hard time.  I’m having a great time!  I’m waking up easier, moving faster, thinking clearer… it’s a good story.

Today I did have a craving for a split second.  I craved an Easter ham sandwich on toast with cheese. The craving happened for a split second, but I just told myself, “Jen, you cray,” and continued the day.  Now when I think of that sandwich, I still think about how delicious it is, but I don’t want it.

I did something new today– I got a massage.  A very good friend of mine gave me a gift certificate to Spa Sydell, which just so happens to be literally across the street (as in, I’m looking out my window right now and I see it).  It was a little uncomfortable at first; if you can imagine (or maybe you don’t have to because you’re a normal person who’s been before), entering a building that looks deserted because everyone is either in a massage room or somewhere else at 6:30 on a Tuesday evening.  You’re told to strip, put on a robe, and then follow the masseur down an empty hallway to a dark, tiny room that contains only a “bed,” a night stand with a bottle of oil and a candle.  The masseur leaves the room, you strip and get under the covers, and then he re-enters asking if you’re comfortable.  What did I get myself into?!

Thankfully, the massage was amazing!  Such a relaxing 60 minutes with just you, your thoughts, and a pair of very skilled hands working out life’s stresses.  Ahhhh…  Fastest 60 minutes EVER!

Anyway, I digress.  Back to today’s meals:

Breakfast= More Frittata and Salsa

Just as good as yesterday!  Yummy porky, eggy, sausagey, tomatoey goodness!

Lunch= Grilled Chicken and Sweet Potato

I made an extra sweet potato last night, and it became lunch today.  Served with a few strips of chicken breast. Somewhat small, yet satisfying!

Snack= Larabar and Strawberries

Somehow I still get hungry right around 3 pm. I think it could potentially be because I am not eating much for lunch. Anyway, another Larabar down, and this time it was the cashew cookie.

So, you may recall on Day 1 I mentioned I don’t care for cashews.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  I think maybe I was drawn by the word “cookie.”  I thought it would taste more like a gingersnap (no clue why) but instead, it tasted like cashews.  Note to self: stay away from cashews.  They’re not your faves.

The strawberries, on the other hand, were delicious!  I ate a few prior to my massage and they were sooo sweet and fresh.  Costco’s where it’s at, peeps!

Dinner= “Spaghetti” and Tomato Sauce

Remember when I said I got a spiralizer?  So, tonight I made zoodles.  I’m going to post the before picture, because the “after” picture, while satisfying, is not very photogenic.

IMG_2345

Zoooooooodles.  I love saying that word!  Anyway, I boiled the zoodles for a few minutes and then served Jonathan’s favorite sauce on top, which is just onions, peppers, diced tomatoes, and basil.  First impressions of zoodles is that they’re definitely not pasta, but also not at all a bad substitute!  I kind of felt like I was eating some sort of ratatouille– a bowl of veggies.  But on the other hand, I felt super healthy, and it tasted great!  Another success for the recipe book!

Remarks…

Another good day.  Not much more to remark (plus, wasn’t my top section long enough?!

Leave a comment